About Us

Aberdeen Choral Society

Aberdeen Choral Society has performed most of the popular choral works at our concerts in the Music Hall over the years.


The Society was founded for the study, rehearsal and public performance of choral music. The 1946 Constitution listed amongst its aims: "The Society is not conducted for profit and its aims are solely of a cultural, educative and recreational nature" and" promote the love of good music as a cultural influence in the life of the City of Aberdeen and to afford an opportunity for young people to continue their study of choral music after their school days are over."


Since those early days two concerts have been presented every year consisting of an annual performance of Handel's Messiah in the week before Christmas and a second concert in March drawn from the choral works of leading composers. The choir maintains a membership of over 100 and has always enjoyed a wide following in the city and the surrounding area.

Solo Artists

Top solo artists with national and international reputations have performed alongside the choir at the concerts. Previous guest soloists include:

Jamie MacDougall - Lisa Milne - Colette Ruddy - James Huw Jeffries - Richard Coxon - Simon Kirkbride - Evelyn Tubb - Paul Esswood - Maldwyn Davies - Henry Herford - Pat McMahon - Neil Mackie – Sally Harrison – Sarah Pring – James Edwards – James Oldfield

For some years now the Grampian Sinfonia Orchestra, composed of many talented musicians from the Aberdeen area has accompanied the choir.

Musical Director

Our Musical Director is Professor Paul Mealor, Professor of Composition at the University of Aberdeen. .

First Musical Director and Conductor

Sheriff David Henderson, Jeweller and Senior Baillie of Aberdeen Town Council in 1946, was the first Musical Director and Conductor of The Society. He formed Aberdeen Choral Society with choir members of Beechgrove Church and the West Church of St Andrew, now the Langstane Church, where he was organist.

We are grateful to have received support from and . We are also generously supported by Friends of Aberdeen Choral Society.

Aberdeen Choral Society
Honorary President: Alistair MacDonald
Honorary Vice Presidents: Pat McMahon and Professor Paul Mealor
Chairman: Graham H. Mountford
Honorary Secretary: Val Flook
Musical Director: Professor Paul Mealor